top of page
Search
  • dariancarlovich

Beginnings

I began experimenting with acrylic paint and canvas this weekend. I tried a few different methods in an attempt to find direction. Of course I encountered minor problems and made mistakes but I find value in mistakes. You learn from them.


As I said in the previous blog, I am fond of psychology. I found an interesting article on "The Color Psychology", which explains the emotions that different colors bring about and the reasoning for that. For the first canvas, I went for a monochromatic approach. I used black, dark gray and light gray paint. According to the article, these dark colors can be associated with things such as death, unhappiness and mourning in many cultures. In marketing, the color black can represent boldness, power, mystery, etc. I poured these colors into a cup and then put the cup upside down onto the canvas. I used a blowdryer and dispersed the colors. I enjoyed the process of using the blowdryer because I was able to control where the paint was moving yet the colors were mixing and combining in their own unique way. Unfortunately, I leaned the canvas outside to dry and the wind knocked it over so I took a paint brush and made quick movements to spread the paint.


For my second attempt, I used much brighter colors.

Purple: soothing, mysterious, imagination

Blue: sadness, loneliness on one hand and on the other tranquility and peace

Orange: energy, happiness, enthusiasm

Red: passion, power, love

Colors of feeling. I went with a different approach for this round. I squeezed the tube paint out in a line diagonally across the canvas, layering each color on top of the next. I used the blow dryer again to spread the paint. This attempt was more successful but I definitely need to use more paint in the future. There were some areas that were blank because there wasn't enough paint to spread. Yet again as the canvas was drying it fell face down so it is not the way I would like it to look. But I was excited over the way some areas looked.

Third and final experimentation for the weekend. I used whatever paint colors I had remaining. I had left and tried the same approach of the diagonal paint line across the canvas. I experienced similar problems to the second attempt. I have learned that I should either utilize a smaller scale or buy more paint in the future.

Although these pieces are far from perfect, I felt inspired for the first time this semester. I am particularly enjoying this method. I have always gravitated to paint for my work. Like I previously said, it was both in and out of my control. I handled the areas in which the paint spread. but not the way the colors mixed. It is a work in progress but I think the pieces will come together and I will produce something I am proud of in the end. Lesson learned to not leave paint out to dry in windy weather.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page