top of page
Search
  • dariancarlovich

Definitions

Vulnerable: adjective; susceptible to physical or emotional attack or harm.

Synonyms: in danger, in peril, endangered, unsafe


Disoriented: verb; make (someone) lose their sense of direction; a state of mental confusion

Synonyms: confused, bewildered, lost, off course, adrift


In the beginning of the semester, I was trying to portray the emotions behind vulnerability. This continues to be a theme that I hope comes through in my work. I believe that as artists, there is always some sense of vulnerability involved in each work we create. When we share our art, we are giving or exposing a piece of ourselves with the possibility of this not being accepted or appreciated the way we anticipated. It is something that has always been frightening to me.


I feel there has been a slight shift in my initial project. I want to incorporate a feeling of disorientation into my work. With everything going on in the world, I have been experiencing this more than I wish. Everything is messy, confusing, nerve-wracking and uncertain. These two words almost go hand and hand in my eyes. I think they are some what complimentary. There is vulnerability in disorientation and vice versa. I'm probably rambling and might not make complete sense right now, but this idea comes together in my own head. Disorientation has become a major part of my process and has impacted the work I have created since Spring Break.


Disoriented Vulnerability.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page