top of page
Search
  • dariancarlovich

paradise lost response

I have not heard of Paradise Lost or the work of Phillip Pullman before. It seems that Paradise Lost has an array of different interpretations; a Christian epic, comment on the English Civil War, and the epitome of poetic ambiguity according to Pullman. I was initially hesitant to read this article. I have always shunned poetry due to the fact that I don't understand the meaning behind it 90% of the time. I read the excerpts from Paradise Lost multiple times trying to decipher the poem to the best of my ability. Midway through the article I realized that I didn't need to put so much focus on the actual passages, but what Paul Pullman was saying in relation them. Pullman speaks about Paradise Lost with a sense of excitement and admiration for the beauty he finds from the piece. C.S Lewis remarks that "for many readers it's not just the events of the story that matter: it's the world the story conjures up. I think that this relates directly to making visual artistic work. Aesthetic enjoyment should be the primary mode of carrying out an artist's ideas or feelings. I believe that art that has an aesthetic approach rather than a didactic is evokes a story, some sort of self-reflection and meaning. There is a story behind all art in general, whether it is a painting, sculpture, poem, novel, etc. I appreciate the way that art has the ability to relate to a wide variety of individuals in a different way. The intention that the artist had in mind may be completely different than what the viewer reads from the piece. There is a reason why some pieces are considered timeless. Paradise Lost: originally published in 1667, Starry Night created in 1889, The Last Judgement finished in 1541. Centuries later, these pieces are world-renowned and as influential as ever. Art evokes an emotional response--intentional or not--that connects human beings. After reading this article I feel that I have a greater understanding of the concept of didactic and aesthetic.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page