top of page
Search
  • dariancarlovich

Solace

COVID-19, Coronavirus. Of course, we have all heard of it and we are aware of what's going on. We are living through what will be written in history books.


I have returned home after spending the past 10 days in Ireland in the middle of a global pandemic. It was quite possibly one of the most unique experiences I have ever had in my life. There were many emotions involved in this trip. Emotions that are not typically associated with going on a trip or vacation. Fear, uncertainty, hysteria. The country was placed on lockdown the day after I arrived. Shops, restaurants, pubs.. everything shut down with the exclusion of supermarkets. The streets were bare, you could feel the sense of emptiness filling the once busy streets of Dublin.


This lockdown gave me copious time to think, observe, and feel. Throughout the course of the semester, I have been exploring the idea of vulnerability. Specifically, my own vulnerability. I came to a realization in Ireland. The entire world is in an incredibly vulnerable position right now. As weird as it is to say, this has given me a source of inspiration for my project. I wish this wasn't happening, but it is. I hope that I am able to channel the vulnerability that we are all feeling to create something messy, chaotic, meaningful, and "beautiful".


I'm nervous, honestly. There are so many unanswered questions relating to the future. I have my anxieties relating to this class. How will I produce new work? I typically work with canvas and paint and that is not at my disposal at the moment. This is a challenge, but one I have no choice to embrace. I am going to explore digital options and hopefully find some sort of solace... Sometimes the best things are created during dark times.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page