top of page
Search
  • dariancarlovich

TUTORIALS 2

This is the start of the third week into the fall semester. There's a sense of deja vu because I feel as though I am reliving my Tutorials 1 experience. I began off Tutorials 1 feeling lost and confused. It was the first time I had to develop my own ideas for work and wasn't told to complete a specific assignment. I struggled for the first few weeks. To be honest, I am feeling unmotivated and uninspired.


Here I am again, Tutorials 2. I have been asking myself what the goal for this semester's work will be. And I am not quite sure yet. I'm enrolled in an Art History class and we are reviewing artists and work of the Abstract Expressionism period. I thoroughly appreciate the interest in psychoanalysis between the Ab-Ex and Surrealist artists. That is always something I have been interested in.


I have done a few sketches but nothing that I have been proud of. I have always leaned toward using paint and watercolor has been intriguing to me lately so I think I will experiment with that this weekend. It's not so much of a concern to me that my art has a clear subject. It never has been. I aim to evoke thought, emotion, or memories to the viewer.


I'm hoping that the book "The Art of War" will help me navigate my thoughts so I can start putting work together.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page